A fun-filled weekend at the Hundred Islands!

My quest to discover the best destinations in the Philippines continues and the next leg of my journey got me to “The Hundred Islands”.

The Hundred Islands National Park is located in Alaminos City, Pangasinan. Approximately five (5) hours away from Manila. It is composed of 124 islands at low tide and 123 at high tide. These islands and islets are scattered in Lingayen Gulf covering an area of 1,667 hectares.

These are the boats transporting tourists from Lucap wharf in Alaminos to the hundred islands.

I’ve heard lot’s of good things about the hundred Islands, so I have decided to see and experience it myself. At first, I was quite worried that it won’t live up to my expectations but at the same time I’m very excited.

All of my worries suddenly fades away as soon as we arrived! It even surpassed my expectations. Here are some of the wonderful moment captured on camera during my “Hundred Islands” adventure! 🙂

This is our first stop, the Governor’s island. On top of the island is the viewing deck which allows tourists to see and experience the picturesque seascape!
The panoramic view of the hundred islands on top of Governor’s island! Sun-bathing, boating, fishing, scuba diving, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, shelling, island hopping, bird watching, spelunking, helmet diving, beach bumming, cliff diving, camping, hiking, name it they have it! Fun-filled activities awaits you at the hundred islands.
If you are a fan of extreme recreational activities, then this zip line is a must-try! You’re destination? It will take you to the next island the fastest way possible. 🙂
The son of the boatman. At a very young age, he’s working hard to help his father. I’m wondering what he’s thinking?
This is the boatman. Parking our ride in style!
Our next destination is Marcos Island. This is where we could find Imelda cave.
View of Imelda cave from above. Here, you could do cliff diving!
My body is saying let’s go but my mind is saying no! hehe..  🙂
The beach at Marcos Island. The pristine turquoise water and creamy white sands will definitely captivate every tourists visiting this island.
The bridge at Quezon Island. Perfect for sightseeing and picture taking!
I’ve had a great time snorkeling at coral garden! This is also the first time I’ve seen giant clams. By the way, this is a protected area so taking anything from it’s water is strictly prohibited.
We finally arrived at the children’s island!
Why it’s called children’s island? The shallow water here makes it perfect for young boys & girls to enjoy swimming.
Our last destination is Cuenco cave. It is basically a cave with ocean view on both ends.
Show off your best diving pose! 🙂
…and this is the end of our trip.

This has been one of the most enjoyable weekend ever, filled with fun and surprises! 🙂

41 thoughts on “A fun-filled weekend at the Hundred Islands!”

  1. You’re so much more mature than myself. I couldn’t include a picture of the “Imelda Marcos” cave without cracking a shoe joke….Love the content and photos. I’m happy to follow 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi! Thank you for liking my post.

      Yes, you could stay overnight however only few selected islands like governor’s, children’s, Quezon, and Marcos islands are best for overnight stay.

      Please take note also that there are no accomodation available within the islands. If you would like to stay overnight, you may pitch a tent. The caretaker will provide you with a tent at a minimum fee.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi AJ,

    I’m a lover of old fashioned books so I got out our trusty world Atlas to look up where this was on my one page Philippines map and couldn’t find it anywhere.

    Then I went to my assistant Mr Google and saw exactly why I didn’t find it in the Altas. 🙂 The national park is certainly tucked away, and the Philippines is far bigger than I thought it was (I learn something new every day!)

    I’d love it if you had a few maps on your blog where you added all of the places you visited, then I could follow at a glance where these amazing places are in relation to big cities like Manila etc.

    Himself and I used to do weekend trips fairly often before we had children, it’s one thing to be saving for a big trip abroad but it’s a pity that so many people do that these days without ever visiting the beautiful places right in their own back yard first.

    Every now and again we manage a weekend away with the kids and drag them around castles and historic sights, and even if they moaned about the idea at first they would find that it’s really interesting once you actually get there.

    We’ve not done much in the last four years because of my accident and lack of mobility, but once my foot is better I’ll be itching to resume these weekend trips because even in a small country like the Netherlands there are so many treasures of places to see and often the further off the tourist trail you go, the better the experience.

    Your photographs are beautiful…. sigh, I sit inside in a plaster cast on a chilly grey winters day and envy you those pristine turquoise waters and creamy white sands…

    It inspires me to get better as quickly as possible so that I can get back to enjoying this kind of thing again 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi there! Thank you for visiting my blog. I appreciate that you spend some time to comment on my post. Your suggestion is also appreciated.

      I admire the fact that you’re spending quality time with your family through traveling. I’m looking forward to your full recovery and I’m excited to see where you will be going next! 🙂

      You and you’re family are very much welcome to visit the Philippines. I’m sure that your family will have a wonderful time here.

      Netherlands, specifically Amsterdam is one of the places in the world that I wish I could go someday.

      Always have fun, take care, and have a wonderful time with your family. 🙂

      Like

    1. Yes, I had a great time! Thank you.. 🙂

      There are many wonderful places here in the Philippines, I’m sure that you will enjoy traveling in my country.

      Like

  3. Wow I’m glad to have found your blog! The Philippines look incredible, I plan to go there in 2017 as part of my round the world trip. The diving in the caves look especially cool. I’m an avid follower now!

    Like

    1. Hi Aaron James! Thank you for following my blog. 🙂

      I’m happy to have found your blog too! I was searching for some information about Cambodia when I discover about your blog. Thank you for sharing your memories in Cambodia.

      Good luck and have fun on your future travels. You will surely have a great time here in the Philippines. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Aj, thanks! I will be posting another soon about my most favourite place in Cambodia (Sihanoukville). Thanks for following me.
        All the best from me here in London 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

